Organists of the Minster

1842 Dr Samuel Sebastian Wesley
previously Organist of Hereford and Exeter Cathedrals; subsequently Organist of Winchester Cathedral 1849, Gloucester Cathedral 1865

1849 Robert Senior Burton

1880 Dr William Creser
previously Organist of Scarborough, St Martin; Organist of HM Chapels Royal 1891

1891 Alfred Benton

1906 Dr Edward Cuthbert Bairstow [Knighted, 1932]
previously Organist of Wigan Parish Church; York Minster 1913
President, The Royal College of Organists
President, Incorporated Association of Organists

1913 Willoughby Williams

1920 Dr Albert Charles Tysoe
previously Organist of All Saints, Northampton: St Albans Cathedral 1937-1947

1937 Dr Alfred Melville Cook [DMus Durham, 1940]
previously Assistant Organist, Gloucester Cathedral; Organist Cheltenham, All Saints; Hereford Cathedral 1956-1966; Metropolitan United Church, Toronto, Canada 1967-1986

1957 Dr Donald Frederick Hunt [DMus Leeds [honoris causa, 1975] [OBE, 1993]
previously Assistant Organist of Gloucester Cathedral, Organist of St John's Torquay. Master of the Choristers and Organist, Worcester Cathedral 1975-1996 (Conductor of eight Worcester Three Choirs' Festivals). Principal, Elgar School of Music, 1996.

1975 Dr Simon Geoffrey Lindley [Hon DUniv: Leeds Metropolitan University, 2001; University of Huddersfield, 2012]
President, The Royal College of Organists, 2000-2003
Vice President, The Royal College of Organists from 2003, Member of the Trustee Council from 2012
President, Incorporated Association of Organists, 2003-2005
Vice-President, Sheffield and Disrict Organists and Choirmasters' Association, 2012
Co-compiler, New English Praise [a supplement to the New English Hymnal], 2006
Dr Lindley is also active as a Recitalist in his capacity as City Organist at Leeds Town Hall and as a leading Choral Conductor - of Leeds Minster-based St Peter's Singers, Sheffield Bach Society, Doncaster Choral Society and Overgate Hospice Choir, Halifax.

2016 Paul Dewhurst                                                                                                                                                                                           previously Director of Music of Pontefract Parish Church (St Giles') and St Laurence Catford. Also conductor of Wakefield Festival Chorus and Chorus Master to Hull Choral Union.,