Home / Music / Organ / Organists of Leeds Minster

Organists of Leeds Minster

1842 Dr Samuel Sebastian Wesley
previously Organist of Hereford and Exeter Cathedrals; subsequently Organist of Winchester Cathedral 1849, Gloucester Cathedral 1865

1849 Robert Senior Burton

1880 Dr William Creser
previously Organist of Scarborough, St Martin; Organist of HM Chapels Royal 1891

1891 Alfred Benton

1906 Dr Edward Cuthbert Bairstow [Knighted, 1932]
previously Organist of Wigan Parish Church; York Minster 1913
President, The Royal College of Organists
President, Incorporated Association of Organists

1913 Willoughby Williams

1920 Dr Albert Charles Tysoe
previously Organist of All Saints, Northampton: St Albans Cathedral 1937-1947

1937 Dr Alfred Melville Cook [DMus Durham, 1940]
previously Assistant Organist, Gloucester Cathedral; Organist Cheltenham, All Saints; Hereford Cathedral 1956-1966; Metropolitan United Church, Toronto, Canada 1967-1986

1957 Dr Donald Frederick Hunt [DMus Leeds [honoris causa, 1975] [OBE, 1993]
previously Assistant Organist of Gloucester Cathedral, Organist of St John’s Torquay. Master of the Choristers and Organist, Worcester Cathedral 1975-1996 (Conductor of eight Worcester Three Choirs’ Festivals). Principal, Elgar School of Music, 1996.

1975 Dr Simon Geoffrey Lindley [Hon DUniv: Leeds Metropolitan University, 2001; University of Huddersfield, 2012]

President, The Royal College of Organists, 2000-2003
Vice President, The Royal College of Organists from 2003, Member of the Trustee Council from 2012
President, Incorporated Association of Organists, 2003-2005
Vice-President, Sheffield and Disrict Organists and Choirmasters’ Association, 2012
Co-compiler, New English Praise [a supplement to the New English Hymnal], 2006
Dr Lindley is also active as a Recitalist in his capacity as City Organist at Leeds Town Hall until 2017 and as a leading Choral Conductor – of Leeds Minster-based St Peter’s Singers, Sheffield Bach Choir, Doncaster Choral Society and Overgate Hospice Choir, Halifax.

2016 Paul Dewhurst 

previously Director of Music of Pontefract Parish Church (St Giles’) and St Laurence Catford. Also conductor of Wakefield Festival Chorus and Chorus Master to Hull Choral Union and subsequently Director of Music at Bridlington Priory

2020 Alexander Woodrow 

previously Assistant Organist of Hexham Abbey, Organist and Director of Music at Bradford Cathedral (2012-2016), Head of Choral Music at Solihull School and Organist of St Alphege, Solihull.


Assistant Organists
2003 David Houlder
2023 William Campbell 
(Interim Associate Organist from January to July)
2023 Shaun Turnbull 
previously Assistant Director of Music at Blackburn Cathedral 2012-21, Assistant Organist at Ripon Cathedral 2021-23


Organ Scholar
2020 William Campbell 
2023 Euan Goodwin